By NICHOLAS DETTMANN BEAVER DAM, Wis. - Noah Schepp saw a bit of a space, albeit it was small. It was enough to fit his No. 89 modified car and he made the bold move stick. The Beaver Dam native picked up his second modified "A" main feature of the season Saturday, forcing his way to the checkered flag on the inside of Matt Rechek on the final lap of the 20-lap race. Also picking up "A" main feature victories were Aaron Streblow (grand national), Ethan Ross (legends), Jeff Schmuhl (sport modified) and Mark Baker (street stock). Schepp won a race that appeared Rechek was going to run away with. Craig Priewe and Rechek started on the front row for the feature and led 20 cars to the green flag. Priewe led the first two laps of the feature. Rechek took over the lead on lap three and held onto the lead until there was three laps to go. That's when Schepp took over the lead from Rechek, but it wasn't a smooth ride from there. Rechek and Schepp were door-to-door on the backstraight after taking the white flag. It appeared neither driver was going to give an inch, so Schepp made sure he took whatever space he had. He hugged the bottom of the track, with very little room to spare. Coming off Turn 4, Schepp got enough of an edge over Rechek and won the race to the line. At the same time, Jeremy Christians was able to take advantage of a brief slip-up by Rechek and take second. Rechek came home third, followed by Nick Firari and Dave Schoenberger. Don Scheffler, the defending track champion, made his first appearance since being injured in an season-opening crash May 3. He finished 14th. Priewe, Schepp and Taylor Scheffler won the division's heat races. The street stocks' heat races were the first to go trackside. John Sidesky, Baker and Scott Riedner picked up the victories in their respective heat races. The grand national heat races were won by Tommy Moore and Nick Schumacher. In Schumacher's heat-race victory, the top-three cars were separated by less than one second. Nick Schultz and Dustin Smits won the sport modified heat races, while Larry Zirbel, Mike Mueller and Ross won the legends heat races. Mueller won his heat race by 0.062 seconds. The first "A" main to take place was the street stock division. Stuart White and Baker led the 22-car field to the green flag. Baker led all 20 laps, with Roger Frank finishing second, followed by Scott Riedner, Mitchell Brockway and Alex Crapser. It was Baker's first victory since the 2013 season opener. Brandon Riedner, one of the championship contenders, had a problem early in the race, but still managed a seventh-place finish. Matt Bedker and Jay Schaalma were the front-row starters for the 20-lap grand national "A" main. Bedker led the opening lap and Schaalma had a hold of the top spot for the next three laps. It was an eventful first lap for two contenders in the championship battle, including Moore, the points leader. Roger Lee appeared to slow on the backstraight and Moore ran into the back of Lee, spinning out Lee. Moore was on a mission once he got back going. He charged his way through the field and was a contender for the victory. Streblow took the lead from Don Schumacher just short of the halfway point and led the rest of the race. Moore went on to finish second, followed by Todd Ascherien, Schumacher and Lee. The sport modified "A" main was next, with Brandon Schmitt and Michael Plate Sr. leading the 18-car field to the green flag. Schmitt held the top spot for the first five laps. Schmuhl took over the lead on lap six and led until Nick Schultz took the lead on lap 12. Schmuhl regained the lead on the next lap and led the rest of the way, but it had a close finish. Schmuhl beat Schultz to the lead by less than one second. It was a 1-2-3 finish in the sport mods for Beaver Dam natives. Keith Schmitt was third, followed by Jeremy Schwoch and James Berkevich Jr. Chris Flick was trying for his third straight victory, something that hadn't been since 2012 by Schmitt. Instead, Ross returned to victory lane for the third time this season. Flick finished second. Mueller was third, followed by Joel Wyttenbach and Austin Wiese. It was an eventful last five laps for Mueller, who was trying to keep pace with Joel Bongiorno, the division points leader. While running for the lead, Mueller spun in Turn 4, but was able to hold onto the car and keep going. A caution with two laps to go helped out Mueller. Bongiorno went on to finish sixth, which helped Mueller take over the points lead by five points. Next week is a five-division night, Coke Night At The Races. Gates open at 4:30 p.m. and racing starts at 6:30 p.m. A date for the customer appreciation night, which was wiped out because of weather, has yet to be determined.
Kart Schedule

flagsThe 2017 season has ended.